Focus

You keep talking
but I can barely focus
as I watch your lips move,
your tongue, your teeth
become this complete aching obsession
inside of me.
And your smile –
I want to make it bigger
like I wanted to grab the baby
when they took him away to be cleaned,
like I wanted to make my Grandma
hold on for a few minutes more
so I could thank her,
like I wanted to beat
that damn bitch Diane
at being class valedictorian.
I want to climb into your mouth
and make your smile
stretch all the way to your toes.
So I’m going to do it.
You just keep babbling
and I will nod knowingly,
and we will lock eyes and
I will lean lightly over and kiss you
right in the middle of your sentence.

Leave a Reply

