Foreshadow

Here are 2 versions of the same concept, written at the start and the end of a relationship.

After the Storm

All that pounding
created unmendable cracks
in my foundation
opened these fissures
for you to pour into
you sloshed around
slipping unintentionally
into every empty crevice

It is hard to watch
as this dirty water
pours out of me
to see it wash away
dust and cobwebs
exposing aching fragments
of neglected soul
I did not know

But I feel better
when you are gone
somehow more whole
with these holes
in my firmament
now ready to let in
healthy beams of hot sunlight
and cool fresh breezes
that carry new scents
for me to follow.

Before the Storm
All this pounding has created cracks in the foundation,
opened the floodgates for you to come pouring in.
You slosh around, slipping into every little crevice.

It is hard to watch as this dirty water you make pours out of me,
to see how this has washed away dust & cobwebs,
and aching fragments of neglected soul I did not know.

But I feel better when it is done, somehow more whole
with these holes in my firmament, that let in healthy beams
of hot sunlight & cool fresh breezes that carry new scents.

I take a walk to survey the new landscape, find four
forgotten coins seemingly cemented down, tarnished
green from years of being stuck in the swampy muck.

And you lean down with your strong, dextrous thumb,
carefully pry each out, flipping them over to reveal
clear & clean shining metal
that is still good currency.

One thought on “Foreshadow

Leave a Reply

