Sculpting Waves

I love this TedTalk. In the middle of it, the speaker accidentally breaks out into poem. I wonder if he knows that? Anyway, this is the transcript, which I find deeply moving:

Sculpting Waves Excerpt, by Reuben Margolin

Take your finger and draw this line.

Summer Fall Winter Spring

Noon Dusk Dark Dawn

Have you ever seen those stratus clouds
that go in parallel stripes across the sky?
Did you know that’s a continuous sheet of cloud
that’s dipping in and out of the condensation layer?

What if every seemingly isolated object
was actually just where the continuous wave of that object
poked through into our world?

The Earth
is neither flat nor round.
It’s wavy.

That sounds good, but I’ll bet you know in your gut
that it’s not the whole truth, and I’ll tell you why:
I have a two-year-old daughter,
who’s the best thing ever.
And I’m just going to come out and say it:
My daughter is not a wave.

And you might say, “Surely, if you took even just the slightest step back,
the cycles of hunger and eating,
waking and sleeping,
laughing and crying
would emerge as pattern.”

But I would say, “If I did that, too much would be lost.”

This tension
between the need to look deeper
and the beauty and immediacy of the world,
where if you even try to look deeper,
you’ve already missed what you’re looking for,
this tension is what makes the my soul move.
And for me,
the path between these two extremes
takes the shape of a wave.

One thought on “Sculpting Waves

Leave a Reply

