It’s in the way that you use it

Day 4

 

My ROKU is a positive experience. It allowed me to cancel cable and never again have to accidentally consume “be afraid” news stories, or those terrible random violent images we stumble on when we are flipping channels. My ROKU has 4 channels I love.

First and second, Picassa Web Albums and Facebook each have channels that can be set as your screen saver. So when someone leaves the TV on, but the show has ended, we get this lovely slide show of photos that have been uploaded.  My Picassa albums include black and white family archives I’ve scanned, newer pictures, old digital before and after house photos from when my husband was a designer.  There’s a weird time gap of the old paper photos I’ve had time to scan (got to about 1996) and when we really started using digital regularly (starting somewhere last decade), so it looks like I had a baby, then big kids, and that big long stretch where it was beautiful and busy and exhausting is just missing.  There’s a randomize feature which is FASCINATING. Some nights when I’m home alone, I like to imbibe then read messages into the order… Grandma as a teenager…Animal Adventures giant snake… kitchet repair. Wow, deep!  My Facebook is interesting as well, because it shows the captions. Almost all of my Facebook pics were taken on my phone and uploaded, never printed, so I’ve seen them on a 4 inch and 14 inch screen. On the big screen, some really are quite artful!

Third, I LOVE the TedTalks channel, except that they cycled Brene Brown out of the queue, which is a terrible disappointment. This summer, I set a goal to watch 2 a day, usually exceeded that. Some I had to watch repeatedly. I feel smarter, more connected, and like for sure the world is NOT going to hell in a hand-basket.

Fourth, Netflix. Ah Netflix. When I first moved into my own place, I went on a lesbian film bender. See, the first time I “came out” was in the 80s and there was 1, count them 1, lesbian films.  Now, its a whole series!  Then, my son had all of his cartoons and sit coms.  One time, after his friends went home, he said, “Mom, you have a really embarassing Netflix Queue.”  That cracks me up. Now I’m on a self-help documentary sprint, learning about how yoga, psychedelics and being happy will change the world. I laugh at willing I am now to watch 2012, The Happy Move, The Yoga Project, and think “wow, good point!”

Leave a Reply

It’s in the way that you use it

Day 4

 

My ROKU is a positive experience. It allowed me to cancel cable and never again have to accidentally consume “be afraid” news stories, or those terrible random violent images we stumble on when we are flipping channels. My ROKU has 4 channels I love.

First and second, Picassa Web Albums and Facebook each have channels that can be set as your screen saver. So when someone leaves the TV on, but the show has ended, we get this lovely slide show of photos that have been uploaded. My Picassa albums include black and white family archives I’ve scanned, newer pictures, old digital before and after house photos from when my husband was a designer. There’s a weird time gap of the old paper photos I’ve had time to scan (got to about 1996) and when we really started using digital regularly (starting somewhere last decade), so it looks like I had a baby, then big kids, and that big long stretch where it was beautiful and busy and exhausting is just missing. There’s a randomize feature which is FASCINATING. Some nights when I’m home alone, I like to imbibe then read messages into the order… Grandma as a teenager…Animal Adventures giant snake… kitchet repair. Wow, deep! My Facebook is interesting as well, because it shows the captions. Almost all of my Facebook pics were taken on my phone and uploaded, never printed, so I’ve seen them on a 4 inch and 14 inch screen. On the big screen, some really are quite artful!

Third, I LOVE the TedTalks channel, except that they cycled Brene Brown out of the queue, which is a terrible disappointment. This summer, I set a goal to watch 2 a day, usually exceeded that. Some I had to watch repeatedly. I feel smarter, more connected, and like for sure the world is NOT going to hell in a hand-basket.

Fourth, Netflix. Ah Netflix. When I first moved into my own place, I went on a lesbian film bender. See, the first time I “came out” was in the 80s and there was 1, count them 1, lesbian films. Now, its a whole series! Then, my son had all of his cartoons and sit coms. One time, after his friends went home, he said, “Mom, you have a really embarassing Netflix Queue.” That cracks me up. Now I’m on a self-help documentary sprint, learning about how yoga, psychedelics and being happy will change the world. I laugh at willing I am now to watch 2012, The Happy Move, The Yoga Project, and think “wow, good point!”

Leave a Reply

