Steam

Daily prompt today asks about my perfect Saturday morning. I have several, but today is one of them… A Cambridge day filled with friends and messy love. And poetry in a coffee shop….20121215-085119.jpg

Waiting in line for coffee
And it hits me like a puff of steam-
I’m so happy to have you in my life,
And also mindful of the way you steam.

This kind of power could drive a train
Away from this story I tell myself,
Or make a delicious treat we can feed
To each other in our underwear,
Or relieve the symptoms of my chest cold-
A chest clogged with so many unsaid words.

I can’t see how this settles into my new self,
But today, like steam,
it feels dangerous and soothing
At the same time.

2 thoughts on “Steam

  1. Hi there — I don’t know if you’ll see this comment, but I needed to leave it anyway. I was at 1369 Coffee House on Cambridge St. yesterday, waiting in line for my coffee, when that scrap of paper on which your poem about “Waiting in line for coffee” is scrawled caught my eye. And the line, “I’m happy to have you in my life” hit ME like a puff of steam; I can’t be sure of the circumstances that inspired you to write your verses, but yesterday, I felt that those could be my words for my life in April of 2014, perhaps subconscious sentiments until I saw them on paper, the materialization of which was so overwhelming that I wanted to cry, in the best possible way… all whilst waiting in line for coffee. Glad I could trace it back to its source. So, this is all to say, thank you for that moment.

Leave a Reply

