The 5th Rhythm is Stillness

 “A dog is not considered a good dog because he is a good barker.

A man is not considered a good man because he is a good talker.”

– Buddha

 

Sometimes the words don’t come,

or the words that do feel like

some impostor’s talc on my tongue.

 

There was a time when I felt

I could understand, if only I could explain

and now the uncertainty, mystery,

inexplicability of it all

leaves me wordless, without a sentence.

 

My sentence has been lifted,

I am no more

(if I shut up long enough to notice)

interminably imprisoned

by my need to be heard.

 

And so, what takes the place

I have saved for those words

which have parted?

Is it listening? Silence? Prayer?

Or is it love?

Yes, it is simply and completely

Love.

One thought on “The 5th Rhythm is Stillness

Leave a Reply

